GRACE

I love to walk through the woods and I do it for me, almost every day. My daughter goes with me as does our dog, Grace.  Now, no doubt, I started walking because I needed the exercise and since I love nature, the walk in the woods became a perfect match.  My daughter and I usually hoof through the woods trying to beat our times, get our heart rates up, etc., etc., all while solving the problems of the world. Grace, however, is not interested in the exercise part of the walk; no, Grace is fascinated with every detail along the way. She likes to stop and sniff each tree, stand with her head in the wind to feel the breeze, snatches the fallen acorns and tosses them in the air and then runs to chase them down.  Yes, Grace is enjoying the journey along the way! Sometimes, as I’m sweating, and beating myself up for being 2 minutes slower than the last time,  I think, “I wish I could be like Grace!”  I wish I could relax more, not be so hard on myself, stop and sniff the air, play more and enjoy every moment through the journey of, not only the walk but, all aspects of my life.  And then I think, “why not?” 

 So…I’m trying to give myself permission to do just that! 

Give yourself PERMISSION to enjoy the journey! Great things are waiting!

Susan

About thepermissionlist

Hello, my name is Susan McMullen. I live in Marietta, GA and I am a professional speaker and registered nurse who has not only worked in direct patient care for 26 years, but I have also taken care of both of my parents, all while being married and raising three children. For 8 years, I provided care to my mother until her passing at home, surrounded by family and loved ones. After her death, my family and I moved in with my 70 year old father. For the next 15 years, until July 21, 2009, I orchestrated basic everyday needs along with financial matters, doctor appointments, administering medicines, and eventually made sure that my father’s ultimate wishes concerning life and death were fulfilled. Through the many years of taking care of others, I have become an expert at navigating through the medical maze, overcoming personal guilt and recognizing how important it is, whether in a hospital setting or at home, to take care of oneself if you are going to take care of others. I am on a journey to reclaim my love of life! You are invited to join me! Please share your own care giving stories! Together we'll laugh and cry as we find ourselves woven in the tapestries of each others lives! Together we'll learn to give ourselves PERMISSION to live and love! Great things are waiting! Susan McMullen
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

