I GOT HIM!!!

I know that this may seem almost ridiculous to many of you, but to me this has been an act of patience that has been manifesting over several years! As usual though, patience prevails and, finally… I got him! 

THE HUMMINGBIRD!!

As you all know I love my garden. And in late June through August, the hummingbirds migrate through, stopping in my little corner of happiness to chatter about, see what new flowers I have for the year and to drink the nectar before they continue their long journey  south.

 It always starts with seeing “flashes” of something that flies by so quickly, you are not really even sure you saw anything. Then there will be a “pair” flashing by together and a little “chattering” between the two.  When I finally realize it is the treasured hummingbird, I’ll quickly fill the feeders with the sugar-water they so love.  Afterall, I want them to want to hang around and eat, so that I can enjoy them every minute I can, especially if I only have a couple of months.

I am truly amazed and awestruck by these tiny birds.  You can probably imagine that it’s not enough for me just to enjoy them.  No… I have to capture them on film! And this, mind you is not an easy task for a novice photographer with a ho-hum camera.  So far to date, it hasn’t mattered how long I lie in the bushes or crouch down disguised as a tree limb, or how uncomfortable I am standing motionless while a mosquito chews at my ankle…no, I’ve never been able to catch these glorious creatures on film.  That is…until this past week!  I was out one early morning with our dog, Grace, and noticed there was quite a bit of activity from the little buggers!  They were zipping here and there, chattering away and really paying no attention to Grace and me. So I rushed Grace through her business, took her back inside and grabbed my camera. I stood like a statue in my pajamas, hidden behind a tree…nothing! They’d disappeared. But being unrelenting this time, I took a position behind another tree even closer to the feeder. Propped barefoot on the tree roots and leaning against the rough bark on the tree, I stood poised with my arms outstretched as close to the feeder as I could.  After several minutes, miserable and about to give up, it happened …Mr. Ruby Throat appeared!  I could see him, but since I can’t see well without my glasses, I couldn’t see if he was completely focused in the camera.  So I did the only thing I could think… I just started clicking, clicking and clicking. Then as quickly as he came, he disappeared again.

To my surprise, this is what I had captured…

I know, you have to look close, but I got him!!!

Give yourself PERMISSION to be patient! Great things are waiting!

Susan

About thepermissionlist

Hello, my name is Susan McMullen. I live in Marietta, GA and I am a professional speaker and registered nurse who has not only worked in direct patient care for 26 years, but I have also taken care of both of my parents, all while being married and raising three children. For 8 years, I provided care to my mother until her passing at home, surrounded by family and loved ones. After her death, my family and I moved in with my 70 year old father. For the next 15 years, until July 21, 2009, I orchestrated basic everyday needs along with financial matters, doctor appointments, administering medicines, and eventually made sure that my father’s ultimate wishes concerning life and death were fulfilled. Through the many years of taking care of others, I have become an expert at navigating through the medical maze, overcoming personal guilt and recognizing how important it is, whether in a hospital setting or at home, to take care of oneself if you are going to take care of others. I am on a journey to reclaim my love of life! You are invited to join me! Please share your own care giving stories! Together we'll laugh and cry as we find ourselves woven in the tapestries of each others lives! Together we'll learn to give ourselves PERMISSION to live and love! Great things are waiting! Susan McMullen
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

