WHO SAID VACATIONS SHOULD BE RELAXING???

 

 

By now I’m sure you think that I actually did do something horrible to my husband-like throw him off  Mt McKinley, and then I disappeared deep into the Alaskan tundra never to be found again…!  Sounds like a great story, but,after finally getting to the airport, Mark actually calmed down, and we had a wonderful trip.

Beautiful scenery, 2 weeks with close friends, great food-what could be better?

Well, I will tell you, while it was a wonderful adventure of a lifetime, I am exhausted!! I have never traveled in a tour before. Our family vacations generally revolve around the laid back ocean and /or island time, or getaways with no particular destination or timeline.  Alaska was different! It was: have your bags out at 5am or 6am, on the bus, train or ship by 8am, followed by see all you can see and do over the next 16 hours! And lets not forget-you could really sight see for 24 hours straight, because it is still rather bright at 3am in the morning!!

…and, believe me, Alaska is a BIG!  There’s a lot of  wilderness out there! Now that being said, we saw…

Beautiful landscapes

Not  so “wild” animals

And Great times with Wonderful Friends!

Great fun? YES!!  Relaxing? NO ! But then who said all vacations should be relaxing?

Give yourself permission to be open to new adventures, even when they are not what you expect!

Great things are waiting!

Susan

About thepermissionlist

Hello, my name is Susan McMullen. I live in Marietta, GA and I am a professional speaker and registered nurse who has not only worked in direct patient care for 26 years, but I have also taken care of both of my parents, all while being married and raising three children. For 8 years, I provided care to my mother until her passing at home, surrounded by family and loved ones. After her death, my family and I moved in with my 70 year old father. For the next 15 years, until July 21, 2009, I orchestrated basic everyday needs along with financial matters, doctor appointments, administering medicines, and eventually made sure that my father’s ultimate wishes concerning life and death were fulfilled. Through the many years of taking care of others, I have become an expert at navigating through the medical maze, overcoming personal guilt and recognizing how important it is, whether in a hospital setting or at home, to take care of oneself if you are going to take care of others. I am on a journey to reclaim my love of life! You are invited to join me! Please share your own care giving stories! Together we'll laugh and cry as we find ourselves woven in the tapestries of each others lives! Together we'll learn to give ourselves PERMISSION to live and love! Great things are waiting! Susan McMullen
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

